About Me

Prof Hasnain has served twice as Vice Chancellor of prestigious Universities. During his tenure as Vice Chancellor, the University of Hyderabad (UoH), emerged as a Premier University, ranking as the top University in India and as a consequence, received the very prestigious PURSE Award (Rs 10 crore grant/year) from the Prime Minister of India. The National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) of India awarded UoH an overall grading of 97% (which was the highest score given to any University). The International SCOPUS database analyses of multidisciplinary areas ranked UoH as the Top University in India. As per then Q&S ranking (a respected international ranking Institution based in China), UoH figured at #34 in terms of quality of research output (no University from India figured within top 90), and was at #5 in teacher student ratio, amongst the top 200 Institutions of higher education in Asia.

During his tenure as Vice Chancellor of Jamia Hamdard (JH), the University was ranked No. 1 in the field of Pharmacy for three years (2017-2019). Distinguished lecturer series by eminent personalities including Minister of Human Resource Development (GoI), DG-ICMR, DG-CSIR, Nobel Laureates, etc. were  initiated for inter-disciplinary fusion of various fields of science. The Hamdard Institute of Medical Sciences and Research (HIMSAR) of JH was upgraded into a multi-specialty hospital for nearly 1000 patients daily. JH University received prestigious recognitions in terms of DST FIST Grant, Faculty Recharge Positions by the University Grants Commission, Ramanujan Fellowships, Fellows of the prestigious Science Academies of India, JC Bose Fellows etc. and overall extramural research funding increased many-fold. The student strength almost trebled with the introduction of new programs, such as Law, Hotel Management & Catering, Journalism and Mass Communication, Food Technology, etc. The MHRD recommended it as an Institution of Eminence and ranked it at # 5 amongst all the functional private institutions of Higher Education in the country. It also emerged as a primary destination for Post-Doc researchers and early career Scientists, many of these Indians were inspired to return back from foreign countries to pursue research in India and serve the country.

Having served the Membership of the Sectional Committees and Council of the National Academies of Sciences of India, he continues to serve as a Member of the Sectional Committee (Microbiology & Immunology) to elect new members to the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina -the world’s oldest Science Academy with perhaps the largest number of Nobel Laureates as its Member. He is also a Member of the International Advisory Board, Euro Patho Genomics Network of Excellence and is the Founding Patron of the ISOGEM (International Society for Genomic and Evolutionary Microbiology, Italy). Hasnain was re-invited by the Prime Minister of India to serve another 5-year term as a Member of Science Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (SAC-PM) and was also a Member of Scientific Advisory Committee to the Union Cabinet. He was Chairman of Biotech Advisory Council, Government of Andhra Pradesh and a Member of Biotech Advisory Council of many other State Governments. As Member of Governing Councils of Indian Institute of Advanced Studies, Shimla, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, IIM, Kozhikode, and several institutions, policy-making bodies for S&T and Higher education in the country his contributions remain significant and often considered as a paradigm shift. He has also served in several advisory boards under the past and present Presidents of India. He is/has been associated with the Board of Directors of several companies including Indian Immunologicals Limited; ICICI Knowledge Park; Yashraj Biotechnology; Suven Life Sciences; Dr Reddys Institute of Life Sciences; Aditum Life Sciences and several other Trusts and Societies.


  • Holds the very prestigious National Science Chair of the SERB, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India (GoI) (one of the only 5 such Chairs all over India)
  • Was Elected as a Fellow of the prestigious American Academy of Microbiology, U. S. A.
  • Was Elected as JC Bose National Fellow under the Department of Science and Technology (GoI)
  • Was Elected Fellow of: The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), Italy
  • Was Elected Fellow of: Indian National Science Academy, Indian Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Sciences
  • Was conferred by German Ambassador Steiner, on behalf of the President of Germany, the Award of Federal Order of Merit (Das Verdienstkreuz, 1.Klasse) of the Federal Republic of Germany for outstanding achievements
  • Was a member of the Academic Executive Advisory Board of Elsevier: a body chaired by the Chairman of the Elsevier and has distinguished academicians, Presidents of the Universities from across the world as members, to advise the Elsevier on all academic matters
  • Served as a Member of: J & K Biotech Advisory Committee; Biotechnology Vision Group, Govt. of UP; Government of Gujarat, Government of Jharkhand
  • Was Member, Academic Council/Executive Council/Governing Bodies of ICMR/SERB/AYUSH/PGIMER/AIIMS/JNU/AMU and also many other Central/State/Private Universities
  • Was Chairman/Member of Search-cum Selection Committees to select Vice Chancellor/Directors of over 3 dozen Central/State/Private Universities/National Laboratories and other Higher Educational Institutions of the Country and abroad
  • Was the recipient of Honorary Degrees from Central Universities in India and abroad


1982 – 1983:    Lecturer, Deptt. of Botany, University of Delhi, Delhi
1987 – 2001:    Staff Scientist at the National Institute of Immunology
1999 – 2005:   First Director of Centre for DNA Fingerprinting and Diagnostics (CDFD), Hyderabad
2005 – 2011:   Vice Chancellor, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad

2011 – 2019:   Professor, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Delhi (By Invitation)

2016 – 2021:    Vice Chancellor, Jamia Hamdard, New Delhi

2020 – 2021:   Honorary Professor, IIT Delhi

2021 – 2024:   National Science Chair, IIT Delhi

2021 – Cont:    Distinguished Professor, Sharda University


1975:               B.Sc (Hons), Magadh University, Gaya
1977:               M.Sc, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi
1978:               M.Phil (Course Work), Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi
1980:               Ph.D, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi

1981 – 1983:   National Cancer Institute PDF, University of Alberta, Canada

1983 – 1986:  Alberta Heritage Fellow, University of Alberta, Canada and 1986 – 1987:   Research Associate, Texas A&M University, Texas, USA


National Science Chair,

Department of Biochemical Engineering and Biotechnology
Indian Institute of Technology Delhi,Hauz Khas, New Delhi, 110016, India
EMAIL: seh@dbeb.iitd.ac.in, sehiitd@gmail.com


Distinguished Professor,

Department of Life Sciences,

School of Basic Sciences and Research,

Sharda University, Greater Noida, 201310, India

EMAIL: seyed.hasnain@sharda.ac.in